Professional Liability Insurance Fund of the Quebec Real Estate Brokerage

Spring has finally arrived! And like many people at this time of the year, real estate fever has taken hold. A desire for change and novelty drives you to seek out a completely different living environment- a new home. You may be wondering if taking on a broker to help you in the sale or purchase of your next property is really worth it.

In the “For” column you have many useful benefits: expertise, efficiency, time-saving, access to a network of real estate professionals, etc. But there’s one factor you are probably unaware of that you absolutely must add to that list. And that’s the FARCIQ !

What exactly is the FARCIQ ? It stands for Fonds d’Assurance Responsabilité professionnelle du Courtage Immobilier du Québec. In English it means the Professional Liability Insurance Fund of Quebec Real Estate Brokerage. FARCIQ is responsible for dealing with public claims as well as instructing license holders of the process for managing their titles. The FARCIQ therefore ensures the professional liability of all real estate brokers and mortgage agencies in Quebec.

Its role is divided into three parts:

• First, it provides protection in the event of misconduct, error, negligence or omission that may be committed by a brokerage licensee in the course of his or her professional activities.

• Secondly, it ensures compensation for the resulting loss when professional liability occurs.

• Finally, it addresses the needs and concerns of the brokers with respect to their liability insurance while helping them to prevent risks associated with professional mistakes. It also provides them a service that offers assistance and advice to answer all their questions and cover all their cases. No matter what your buying or selling situation may be, you can be assured that your broker will have the right information and knowledge to ensure that your transaction takes place in the best possible conditions.

In addition, this insurance, mandatory since 2006, is reserved for real estate brokers or mortgage holders who possess a permit issued by the OACIQ (Organisme d’autoréglementation du courtage immobilier du Québec), a self-regulating body for Quebec Real Estate Brokerage. This organization legally protects the public that uses Real estate brokerage and mortgage services.

That’s why, when you’re dealing with a professional broker, you (and all your transactions) get double protection! Reassuring isn’t it?

That should tip the balance on the “For” side!

For more information, visit:  www.farciq.com

Fonds d’Assurance Responsabilité professionnelle du Courtage Immobilier du Québec

Le printemps est arrivé, enfin ! Et comme pour bien du monde en cette période de l’année, la fièvre de l’immobilier s’est emparée de vous. Une envie de changement et de nouveauté qui vous pousse à vouloir changer de cadre, de maison. Vous êtes donc peut-être en train de vous questionner sur l’utilité ou non de prendre un courtier pour vous aider dans la vente ou l’achat de votre prochaine propriété.

Dans la colonne du « Pour » vous avez certainement mis: expertise, efficacité, gain de temps, accès à un réseau de professionnels de l’immobilier, etc. Mais il y a un élément que vous ignorez sans doute et que vous devez absolument ajouter à cette liste. Il s’agit du FARCIQ !

Kézako le FARCIQ ? Il s’agit du Fonds d’Assurance Responsabilité professionnelle du Courtage Immobilier du Québec. En d’autres termes, le FARCIQ s’occupe de traiter les demandes de réclamations du public et d’informer les titulaires de permis sur le processus de gestion de ces dernières. Le FARCIQ assure donc la responsabilité professionnelle de tous les courtiers et agences immobilières ou hypothécaires du Québec.

Son rôle se divise en trois volets: 

• D’abord, il offre une protection en cas de faute, d’erreur, de négligence ou d’omission qui pourrait être commise par un titulaire de permis de courtage dans l’exercice de ses activités professionnelles.

• Ensuite, il assure de verser une indemnité en regard de la perte qui en résulte lorsque la responsabilité professionnelle est démontrée.

• Finalement, il répond aux besoins et aux préoccupations des courtiers à l’égard de leur assurance responsabilité professionnelle tout en les aidant à prévenir les risques liés aux erreurs professionnelles. Il met également à leur disposition un service d’assistance et de conseil pour répondre à toutes leurs questions et couvrir tous les cas de figure. Ce qui signifie que quelle que soit votre situation d’achat ou de vente, vous pouvez être certain que votre courtier aura la bonne information et les bons conseils pour faire en sorte que votre transaction se déroule dans les meilleures conditions possibles. 

De plus, cette assurance, obligatoire depuis 2006, est réservée aux courtiers immobilier ou hypothécaire détenteurs d’un permis de l’OACIQ, (Organisme d’autoréglementation du courtage immobilier du Québec), qui assure la protection du public qui utilise les services de courtage immobilier et hypothécaire encadrés par la loi.

C’est pourquoi, lorsque vous faites affaire avec un courtier professionnel, vous (et toutes vos transactions) bénéficiez d’une double protection ! Rassurant non ?

Voilà qui devrait faire pencher la balance du côté du « Pour » !
Pour plus d’informations, visitez: www.farciq.com